You’re gonna sit here…and you’re gonna LIKE it!

Having a mandatory company picnic is like holding people hostage with food as your weapon. Well, food and the threat of unemployment. Has anyone ever really lost their job for refusing to participate in mandated “leisure” time? The world is stupid enough that I am sure it has happened, but I won’t personally find out today. Not because I am choosing to stay at this obligatory gathering of my own volition, however. I mean, shit…I have to see these ugly fuckers for sixty hours a week as it is. But I couldn’t leave even if I wanted to. “Home” is over 90 miles away, and my “boss” is also my ride.

Mandatory fun time. Goddamnit all.

*sigh*

© Ryan Scott Sanders and Dharma and Belligerence: Mad Rants from a Free-Range Buddhist Hooligan, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ryan Scott Sanders and Dharma and Belligerence: Mad Rants from a Free-Range Buddhist Hooligan with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “You’re gonna sit here…and you’re gonna LIKE it!

  1. I agree completely!! every year the firm I work for puts on a “company picnic” for all of us and our familys. It is a noble idea and costs them a lot of money but if everyone was honest about it I think 90% of the employees would just rather not go, as you said, “Mandatory fun time”, kind of an oxymoron isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

